The Belgian Federal Parliament is a bicameral legislative body. It consists of the Senate (upper house) and the Chamber of Representatives (Kamer van Volksvertegenwoordigers, in Dutch; Chambre des Représentants, in French; and die Abgeordnetenkammer, in German). The Chamber of Representatives has the final word on all “ordinary legislation”. Furthermore, the members of the federal government are answerable to the Chamber of Representatives.

Scrutiny of the work of the federal government is generally carried out by the standing committees. MPs can also ask –oral or written– questions to cabinet ministers. The most important ones are usually asked during “question time” (‘vragenuurtje’, in Dutch; ‘heure des questions’, in French) at the plenary session on Thursdays; the questions and their answers are published in a bulletin.

Belgian legislators have been actively involved in different initiatives aimed at supporting HRDs in third countries. senators adopted a resolution in July 2003 calling the government and its diplomatic missions to undertake a number of measures to enhance the protection of HRDs at risk. MPs adopted resolutions in February 2003, and again in 2012, calling the government to support threatened HRDs through several mechanisms and to invite the EU and other member States to better coordinate policies and actions on behalf of HRDs. Moreover, several Belgian MPs participate in parliamentary networking efforts to denounce ongoing human rights violations, as well as in twinning initiatives as a way to boost collaboration between MPs and HRDs.



 Juliette Boulet   Eva Brems Georges Dallemagne F.X de Donnéa
 Green Party (Ecolo)  Green Party (Groen) Democrat Humanists (CDH) Liberals (MR)
 Zoé Genot  Philippe Mahoux Patrick Moriaux Bruno Tuybens
 Green Party (Ecolo)  Socialist Party (PS) Socialist Party (PS) Socialist Party (SP-A)
 Dirk Van der Maelen
 Socialist Party (SP-A)